Chaitra Navratri Puja Dates

Navratri word is derived from ‘Nav’ means nine and ‘Ratri’ means night in Sanskrit, hence ‘Navratri’ means nine nights of celebration, during which nine forms of goddesses are worshiped. Chaitra Navratri falls in the month of Chaitra and so it is termed as ‘Chaitra Navratri’. According to some popular legends, devotees believe that Lord Shiva granted permission to his wife Goddess Durga for seeing her mother for just nine days. During that time, Goddess Durga demolished demon Mahishasura. Hence Goddess Durga aka Kali is represented as a symbol of shakti - the ultimate strength. It is also said that Maa Durga has eternal divine power, which can never be created nor destroyed. 

The first three days of Chaitra Navratri devotees worship Goddess Durga and her various forms, including Sailaputri, Brahmacharini, Chandraghanta, Kushmanda, Skanda Mata, Katyayani, Kalaratri, Maha Gowri and Siddhidayini. Long before the festival actual begins, the devotees start preparing various cuisines and purchase new clothes to celebrate this auspicious festival. The entire Navratri festival is all about praying, fasting as well as savoring delicacies, dancing and enjoying for the nine days.

Chaitra Navratri symbolizes the beginning of the Hindu New Year which marks the beginning of the spring season. Devotees worship the three main manifestations of Goddess Shakti i.e Durga, Saraswati and Lakshmi to seek their divine blessings. Hope Goddess Durga, too, showers her powerful blessings on everyone. Happy Chaitra Navratri to everyone!

Chaitra Navratri Puja Dates 2016 

Friday, 8th April, 2016
Shailputri Puja

Saturday, 9th April, 2016
Brahmacharini Puja
Chandraghanta Puja

Sunday, 10th April, 2016
Kushmanda Puja

Monday, 11th April, 2016
Skandamata Puja

Tuesday, 12th April, 2016
Katyayani Puja

Wednesday, 13th April, 2016
Kalaratri Puja

Thursday, 14th April, 2016
Durga Ashtami
Mahagauri Puja
Annapurna Ashtami
Sandhi Puja

Friday, 15th April, 2016
Rama Navami

Saturday, 16th April, 2016
Navratri Parana

No comments:

Post a Comment